Wednesday, March 15, 2017

With great pride, the Board of Directors of M.M. Bennetts Award for Historical Fiction presents the list of semifinalists in the 2016 Competition.  The ten books selected span many themes, styles and time periods but share a common standard of excellence consistent with the work of M.M. Bennetts.  We have already begun work on the second round of judging. The fact that so many outstanding novels did not make the list is testimony to the quality of this year’s submissions. 
Books are listed by date of submission.

1.  Jane the Quene, Janet Ambrosi Wertman

2.  Carrie Welton, Charles Monagan

3.  Murcheson County, Rodney Page

4.  The Competition, Caroline Miley

5. In a Gilded Cage, Susan Appleyard

6.  The Devil's Chalice, D. K. Wilson

7.  Thy Children's Children, Diana Ross McCain

8.  The Prince of Glencurragh, Nancy Blanton

9. The Whale, Mark Beauregard

10. New Albion, Dwayne Brenna

We thank you all for your support and participation, and look forward to having you with us for 2017 competition.

          The Board of M.m.Bennetts Award for Historical Fiction