Friday, September 23, 2016

Call for Submissions 2016

We invite authors to submit their books of 60,000 words or more to be considered for the Third Annual M.M. Bennetts Award for Historical Fiction, given each year in memory of M M. Bennetts, author and historian, whose works set a high standard for scholarship and literary excellence.
Publication date must be 2016, verifiable on line at Amazon.

The winner will be awarded $500 and the M.M.Bennetts Award Scroll. The finalists will be notified in May. The winner will be announced in June 2017.

Books must be written in English, set at least fifty years in the past and will be judged on the basis of story quality, development of characters, excellence of writing and historical accuracy.
Self-published books are welcome.

Erotica, Fantasy, Young Adult and Children’s novels will not be accepted.

Submissions must be first editions, entirely the author’s original work. Authors may submit two books if both are published in 2016. Publishers can submit on behalf of their authors.

The Submission Fee is $15 via PayPal. (You don’t have to have a PayPal account.) Include the author’s name and book title(s) in the PayPal message box.  The address for payments is different than the one for submissions.  It is

Please copy and reply to the questions below and email them to after payment.

Please choose one of the following methods to provide copies of your book (the first method is preferred.):

1) Send three paid (gift) Kindle copies of your 2016 published book to for the first round. A writer or publisher can download a manuscript to Kindle Direct Publishers free of charge and have a manuscript up and ready in a few days. If this is not possible, please use method 2.

2) Three PRINT copies may be sent if necessary. Email the board at the address below. Mailing addresses of assigned readers will be provided by reply email. You will not be given the names of the readers. Any message other than your name and the title of the book may disqualify the entry.
Authors must not contact assigned readers or judges. Judges' decisions are final. Your email address may be given to members of the Award organization for the purpose of conducting our business. It will not be shared elsewhere.

Please read this Call for Submissions carefully to be sure your novel qualifies before paying the fee and sending the materials. There will be no refunds.

All entries must be received by midnight PST January 31, 2017. Please enter as early as possible. Judge's questionnaires will be scored and comments saved. Submitting early will not be a disadvantage.

Members of the Board of Directors of the M.M. Bennetts Award for Historical Fiction, its committee members, its assigned readers and its judges may not submit.

Thank you for your interest.

Submission questions to be completed:
Author’s Name:
Publisher's name, or state if Self-Published:
Book Title:
2016 Publication Date:
Genre: Must be Historical Fiction
Sub-genre if any:
Era and location of the story:
Brief general theme of the story:
Purchase site url, preferably on Amazon
Confirm that the $15 Submission Fee has been paid

Submitting your novel indicates you agree to abstain from contacting the Award organization, its assigned readers and its judges regarding the decisions they make relating to the organization, the contest, and the outcome, and that you accept their decisions as final. Submission signifies acceptance of our rules as set out on this page and any changes the Board of Directors finds it necessary to post.

1 comment:

  1. Exciting post and thank you for sharing. There are things here that I didn't think some time as of late. Because of cool such a position, to the point that is to a great degree carefully taken, we will talk a huge amount of colleagues about it.Outdoor Advertising Agencies in Nagpur